Category : General

ONLINE TICKET SALES ARE CLOSED, but you can still purchase them at the Sechelt Visitor Centre / SC Volunteer Centre until 4 pm today (Friday).
Or come to the Hall and see if there might still be space when doors open at 6 pm.

The Sunshine Coast Volunteer Centre is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016 Celebration of Excellence Volunteer Awards!

The following 55 outstanding community members have been selected to receive an award for their exceptional volunteerism in these categories:

  • Arts and Culture: Patricia & Murray Drope, and Dorothy Fraser

  • Community Building: Conchita Harding, Sue Jackel, Lennea Perpet, Alison Sawyer, Patricia Stuart, and Anne Titcomb

  • Environmental Protection & Enhancement: Barbara Hetherington, and Daniel Kingsbury (Posthumous Award)

  • Health and Wellness: Michelle Chapman, Donna Kyewich and Maxine Nelson with the Sunshine Coast Healthcare Auxiliary. And the Sunshine Coast Homelessness Advisory Council (SCHAC) Steering Committee: Kelly Foley, Judith Goetz, Cayce Laviolette, Clarence Li, Lucie McKiernan, Susann Richter, Matt Thomson, and Brenda Wilkinson.

  • Safety: Mark Wenn

  • New Volunteer: Janice Williams, and the team of volunteers at the Community Services Thrift Store: Marilyn Adams, Dustin Archer, Sheri Archer, Lindsey Davidson, John Dunne, Alison Forbes, Jeanne Hage, Susan Hendricks, Sheranne Johnson, Tyler Kim, Marlene Longman, Lynn Morgan, Alisha Sachtzen, Maureen Shields, Angelika Theunissen, Richard Tingman, Theresa Wright.

Get your tickets now for the Gala Award Ceremony to honour these exceptional volunteers and learn about the crucial and impactful work they do for our community.  You can purchase them here online, or pop by the Volunteer Centre / Sechelt Visitor Centre.  The Award Ceremony begins at 7 pm, with doors open at 6, and a wine and dessert reception to follow the awards.

The Celebration of Excellence is made possible thanks to the generous support of the Sunshine Coast Credit Union, the Community Resource Centre, KMF Holdings Ltd. (Tim Hortons & Wendy's), the Coast Reporter, the Roberts Creek Community Association, Heather Conn ~ Writer & Editor, Spirited Native Drums, Patsy Baker ~ Florist, Clayton's, Wheatberries, and the hard-work of our organizing and nominations committees!

If you would like to help us honour our community volunteers, please consider becoming an Award Sponsor, Food Sponsor, or join our volunteer event team.  Contact or leave a message at 604.885.1036.


Loading Map

Event Location : Roberts Creek Hall, 1309 Roberts Creek Rd, Roberts Creek, BC

28 October 2016 To 28 October 2016
11:00 AM To 2:00 PM
Ticket Booking From
3 October 2016 To 26 October 2016